A message for father’s day. (not dads and grads)

Posted on June 18, 2011

6


“Violence never solved anything” my mother would say.
“Fighting hurts you more than the people that pick on you” said the school assistant principal, Mrs. Greally, as i sat in her office waiting for detention that I had not earned.
“if you ignore them they will get bored and go away.” said the school nurse as she put disinfectant on my eye, and my busted lip.
“Never forget you are better than they are.” said the bus driver as she pulled away the curb to leave me to the attentions of three bullies.
“You are bigger than they are, and fighting back would make you a bully.” said my neighbor Mrs. Clarke.

“What the fuck is wrong with you? you are like three times the size of those little bastards! Hurt one of them so bad everyone is too scared to fuck with you ever again!”

Thank you Mister Brock. Junior high school phys ed teacher. Your ways were rough, but you were the only one that ever understood or truly cared. You were the closest thing I ever found to a father.

And to my blood father, whom I only met once- I understand. I forgive you. I never truly understood until it happened to me.

Posted in: Fatherhood